In my not-so-humble opinion, obsession with hair has become a national past time.

We tease, rat, wax, pluck, laser, electrolocize, tweeze, comb, brush, roll, bend, heat, cool, gel, mousse, coif, puff, poof, spray, shape, colour, cut, bleach, feather, straighten, flatten, shine, braid or shave it. I mean, come on just the pubic hair management business alone has become a thriving industry.

I admit, when I was in beauty school learning to set and comb out the perfect Italian top I thought HARD about what the future of hair held for me. I would look into the hairy crystal ball that predicted trends and I saw the words PUBLIC HAIR as clear as could be. Well,that was uneventful, since I was already doing the public’s hair. Crazy Colour was in vogue then, we were transitioning from frosting in caps  to foil highlights, and from garish greens and purples to normal only-her-hairdresser- knows- for -sure type of colour.

Anyhow, always one to rush toward the future (only to find that someone moved it a few weeks forward) I managed to not really pay attention to  the “L” in public, and the lasting impression I was left with was ‘PUBIC hair’.
I took it as a sign from the universe that one day pubic hair would be the new ‘black’.

Was I right or was I right?

Anyhow, In the salon’s dungeon was a sort of medieval ‘hair removal’ room, where mistress Betty worked. Well educated men and women would voluntarily climb on the table, and bravely and eagerly expose their hirsute body parts. Okay, normal enough, we’re licensed, professional, service providers, we’re caring people. Someone has to keep a straight face, roll up their sleeves, grab the bull by the horns, stand erect and scream out “HAIR, GET THEE BEHIND ME!”.

To be honest, I found it a pretty strange thing to do for hours on end, but then again, what isn’t?

The things people are  doing, or sometimes more frightening, not doing to their public and pubic hair still floors me.

in the 1400’s-1600’s Merkins and Bowsers were all the rage. A type of pubic hair wig that would somehow be attached to what god already had growing there and lo and behold you could have a long flowing full-on nest of hair dangling and swaying under your frock. If you think about it tight pants or mini skirts were probably not in fashion at that time . I suppose that if you got caught in the rain and your hair looked
a-fright, you could just reach into your “pocket”, whip out your bowser, or merkin and put it on your head and things would be groovy again. Or if a dignified gentleman was in process of growing a beard, he could attach his bowser to his face and in two shakes of a lamb’s tail, he’d be all gussied up for a game of croquet.

it all seems just a wee bit over the top, don’t you think?

As my friend Howard said, “no matter what the issue, inevitably, it all boils down to hair”. He is a wise man. I dare you , gather a few of your friends, pick any subject and if you really break it down, hair will be a major factor somewhere.

A case in point: People may be upside down on their homes or without a housekeeper, cell phone or Netflix account, but the quest for bigger, better or less hair marches on.
__________________________

Do you have a story about doing hair or having your hair done?
If so, i want to hear from you for my Book Project. Please leave your comment and we’ll ‘Tawk”.

– Simone.

